1. 工作原理

您可以使用 SpatialOS 提供的虚幻引擎游戏开发套件 (GDK) 来设置您的游戏。GDK 是 虚幻引擎 的分支和插件,并带有相关项目,延用了您熟悉的原生虚幻工作流及 API,便于您快速上手使用 SpatialOS 的功能。

网络切换

在虚幻引擎中,游戏客户端使用虚幻引擎的网络代码与游戏服务器通信。SpatialOS GDK 替换了这部分网络代码。您可以使用虚幻编辑器 (Unreal Editor) 中的工具栏,在虚幻引擎网络和 SpatialOS 网络之间进行切换。

GDK 延伸了虚幻引擎的 UIpNetDriver (编排同步) 以创建 USpatialNetDriver,进而处理 GDK 和 SpatialOS 之间的连接,并将虚拟引擎的本机同步更新和 RPC 转换为 SpatialOS 可以遵循的指令。我们使用 UnrealHeaderTool 生成反射数据,然后将其转换为叫作“结构描述”的 SpatialOS 数据格式。

图像: SpatialOS GDK 和原生虚幻之间的网络切换

虚幻引擎 GDK 的功能

GDK 提供与 SpatialOS 的网络集成,进而实现虚幻引擎 4 (UE4) 客户端和服务器与 SpatialOS 运行时通信来同步状态。

使用 GDK,您可以将构建好的 UE4 服务器二进制文件上传到 SpatialOS,供其在游戏实例中运行。您还可以将客户端上传到 SpatialOS,并使用 SpatialOS Launcher 将它们分发给玩家来进行早期的游戏测试。

此外,您还可以集成游戏实例外的系统,如背包、身份认证和匹配。

下一章:2. 将虚幻引擎 GDK 融入您的游戏技术栈


最近更新时间: October 13, 2021 (c7fd0313)

1. How it works

To set up your game with SpatialOS, you use the SpatialOS Game Development Kit (GDK) for Unreal. The GDK is an Unreal Engine fork and plugin with associated projects. It provides features of SpatialOS within the familiar workflows and APIs of Unreal.

Networking switch

In Unreal, game clients communicate with the game server using Unreal’s networking code. The SpatialOS GDK for Unreal plugin replaces this networking code. You can switch between Unreal networking and SpatialOS networking from the toolbar in the Unreal Editor.

The GDK for Unreal extends Unreal’s UIpNetDriver (which orchestrates replication) to create a USpatialNetDriver. This handles the connection between the GDK and SpatialOS, and translates Unreal’s native replication updates and RPCs into instructions that SpatialOS can follow. The GDK does this by using the UnrealHeaderTool to generate reflection data that it then turns into the SpatialOS data format called schema.

Image: The SpatialOS GDK for Unreal networking switch.

GDK for Unreal features

The GDK provides a networking integration with SpatialOS, which enables Unreal Engine 4 (UE4) clients and servers to communicate with the SpatialOS Runtime to synchronize state.

Using the GDK, you upload your built-out UE4 server binaries to SpatialOS, which runs them in a game instance. You can also upload clients to SpatialOS and distribute them to players using the SpatialOS Launcher for early playtesting.

In addition, you can integrate systems from outside the game instance, such as inventory, authentication, and matchmaking.

Next: 2. How the GDK for Unreal fits into your game stack


Last edited on: July 12, 2021 (5638822a)